Follow Us

Upcoming events

Log in

United around the globe to foster international trade and the advancement of women in business.

Excellence Award for Leadership in International Trade Award

This award recognizes an outstanding woman in Ontario who, through her business and personal networks, acts as a trade advocate and mentor for women, fostering opportunities that actively support women entrepreneurs or professionals to achieve success in international business.  Please note that OWIT Board Members are not eligible for this award.

2020 Award: Christine Nakamura  


Christine is currently Vice President at the Asia Pacific Foundation of Canada’s Toronto office. Her responsibilities include facilitating trade, political, academic, and cultural engagements with Asia. Throughout her career, she was employed in various capacities by the Canadian government, most recently with the then Department of Foreign Affairs, with postings in Japan and Korea. From 2017 to 2018, on behalf of the Asia Pacific Foundation, she led a cross-Canada dialogue series on “Women2Women in the Asia Pacific”, which led to a women-only business mission to Japan in April 2019, with 17 participants. The planned business mission to Korea in February 2020 pivoted to a virtual business mission in early November. This virtual trade mission was the first one for Canada dedicated to women entrepreneurs and secured additional funding form the Canadian government, with 26 delegates from across Canada. In the lead-up to the virtual mission, Christine and her team organized a series of four training sessions for their delegation. Parts of the virtual mission were open to non-delegates, allowing for increased access and connections for a broader range of women entrepreneurs. Positive outcomes are highly anticipated. A virtual mission to Taiwan is being planned for early 2021. Christine Nakamura is currently on a mission to pave the way for new markets for Canadian women entrepreneurs.

Questions? Please contact us at

Thank you for your interest in the OWIT-Toronto Awards!

Please complete the nomination form below.

Past Award Winners

2020: Christine Nakamura

2019:  Isabella Bertani

2018: KC Goundiam

2017: Ruth Snowden
2016: Josie Mousseau
2015: Joy Nott
2014: Alma Farias
2012: Ruth Fothergill
2011: Nancy Ward
2010: Candice Rice
2009: Kathleen Holland
2008: Mary Anderson
2007: Betty Wood
2006: The Hon. Sarmite D. Bulte
2005: Susan Langdon
2004: Maxine Westaway

Fill out my online form.
The easy to use Wufoo form builder helps you make forms easy, fast, and fun.

organization of women in international trade-toronto

P.O. Box 715
31 Adelaide Street East
Toronto, Ontario M5C 2J8

General Inquiries:

© 2021 OWIT-Toronto. All rights reserved.   Litmus Design

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software